Blue Bertha At The Track

Dennis

Registered
I have two 08 Busas (got the second one late last summer) and took Blue Bertha to the track today. She's a bit heavy, but a sturdy gal. I was happy with the times considering it is a budget bike intended for some slower classes. I tested my 6.50 1/8 mile map before switching to the full power map. I think I got 7 passes all afternoon in total, so really only 4 hits at full power. That would be passes number 15 through 19 that I have put on this bike total last year and this year. I have thousands on the other bike so I have some experience.

I'm bike 123

cc4419f1-c5c1-4f2e-90b8-04d184d678ad_zpsrqlfrusz.jpg

IMG_20150817_200358067_zpsk01oqdtu.jpg

Great numbers. Wish I had that kind of consistency on a bike. Guess having thousands of passes under your belt makes a difference. :D

What gearing are you running? Are you foot shifting?
Just trying to get some ideas about how much gear to add

I'm 17/45 and use an airshifter. The shifter doesn't really make the bike much faster, but it does make shifting with the front wheel up much easier for me. My gearing allows the bike to go through the quarter in 5th gear and is a reasonable compromise in ease of launching without being too wheelie prone.

Around 5k on the tach but what really matters is what you do after that. Ideally the rpms stay consistent and the throttle opens and clutch comes out quickly. I'm out of practice on this setup so that's why my 60's aren't very good. I should be low 1.40's and a good rider would be mid 1.30's.

Around 5k on the tach but what really matters is what you do after that. Ideally the rpms stay consistent and the throttle opens and clutch comes out quickly. I'm out of practice on this setup so that's why my 60's aren't very good. I should be low 1.40's and a good rider would be mid 1.30's.
The people I see at our local track that are in the 1.30s have sliders. The best I have been able to get is a 1.50. You are doing better than me :)