Big Brother will be watching-you might want to read this

Gixx1300R

Registered
For those of you that dont know I'm a Firefighter in Orlando Florida area.Well today we had a meeting about up coming changes on the Firefighting industry.We were told that a new piece of Technology will be used in all Firefighting and police vehicles hear in Orlando called AVL(Automatic Vehicle Location)It uses GPS technology.The locator is no bigger than a pack of cigarettes.From what we were told,this Technology has been around before the Gulf War.They said that some Police agencies in Texas already uses this Technology.Onstar already is used this way and anyone using a GPS system can be watched.I'm not being paraniod but this technology can be installed into a vehicle before purchase and will probably never be found.The Rep from the company ( Omicron Tech)stated that they have been looking into studies to use this in many ways,House arrest participants,Convicts,People on probation,A parent can put a braclet or something like it on a child,DUI drivers and so forth.In some situations I agree this should be used but like anything else it will be abused.

Nick

Yeikes! Man I'd loose my license the first week they tracked me. Speed limiters, new radar, lazers, what's the world comming to? Next they'll have a deal where you can own the high performance vehicle but a GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL is the only one that can drive it.

Need to sweep for bugs every time I go for a ride.

I am a Firefighter in Fort Myers FL. IAFF local 1826. Our E.M.S. has the AVL installed on there units.If you place a TUNA CAN over the AVL,it will not work.Does Big Brother like tuna?