big bore kits

Roadroket

Registered
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td bgcolor="#FFE3F5" valign="middle" align="left">Spoiler (Highlight to Read):
</td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#000000" valign="middle" align="left">[/QUOTE]<span style='font-size:13pt;line-height:100%'></span><span style='color:royalblue'></span>
Hello to all,
 I am new to the room. Got a 01 bl/svr with a few mods.  I am interested in putting in a big bore kit (Muzzys, to be exact) and would like any info my fellow boosa brothers and sisters might have.

welcome to the group ! I can't help you on the big bore kits . but I hope everthing turns out . Someone will pop i with advice .

you mean a BIG block or a 1397??
1397 will get you in the 190-205 hp the 1430 bigblock or stock block 1430 will be closer to 220

JC is right on the # w/ hp figures. What do you want to do with the bike? A good place to check is www.carpenterracing.com. You can acheive slightly over 200 hp w/just heads and cams. With this setup you retain rideability. Bob did my bike and 382s bike that I know of on this board and we both feel that there incredible. Search for the post and see. Good luck!

Not a bad move either JC. High compression though? How reliable is it for all day spankin' the a$$ performance!

that is why I went low comp to much can happen with High comp.
Oh and this is a 4 yr old motor.
I will try to scan the sheet

So Johnny, is it better to leave compression at stock? I was considering putting drop ins and leave the bore stock and get head work, but It would better to bore out and leave compression at 12:1? Gimme the cheese man!!
cool.gif

It all depends on what you are going to do.
I think I have yet set up two busas the same. Everybody has a different goal.
List what you want so the builder/tuner whoever it is can make it do what you want it to