Best advice for a radio/MP3 player

MC MUSTANG

Peace Keeper or Ban Hammer-it's up to you; IDMBT#9
Staff member
Administrator
Registered
Okay,
I ride with a chatterbox X2 and I plug in a Sony Mini Disk player that I carry in my tank bag. Sometimes I want to go out and ride without the bag, but I NEED music! So I bought a stem mount. It worked great at first, but after about 15 minutes, it shut off. Almost like the disk was skipping. Anyway, I turned it on, off and back on - worked for another 15 minutes. So, is anyone else using a stem mounted radio....if so, what works best? I have heard that an MP3 player has no moving parts (flash memory) so I think that it would still play, even with the vibrations......

Any thoughts/advice?

I use a palm pilot (Zire 72) with a 1 gig card. I have it velcroed to the tank with ear bud headphones. Works great. I have been using it for the last 3 years and am very satisfied. It is also very easy to use while wearing golves, better than the stand alone MP3 players, IMO.

Chris

You need to place somthing under or ontop of your stemstand plate to cushion the vibrations from the motor or engage your clutch for a few seconds to resume audio again.

Personally I made my own stem stand that is held in place by the tank bolts. So it was easy enough for me to add rubber washer  to miniumize the vibration transmision to my player (mini-disc).

I'll try locating the post of what my jerry rig stem stand looks like.

Ty

<!--EDIT|Rhythm
Reason for Edit: None given...|1127098595 -->

I usually ride with my Ipod shuffle around my neck and it works great. You can get a gig of music for $130. The suffle has no moving parts. I have also used my Ipod photo in my jacket packet. The regular Ipod has a harddrive and moving parts. If I were looking for something I would look at the new Ipod Nano. It is solid state and up to 4gigs, plus it is really tiny, and has a color screen.

Here ya go !
Ty-