Back questions...

Speednut

Registered
Hi everyone. I'm 26 years old. I did some heavy heavy lifting in high school, a couple injuries, etc. like many have had. About 3 years ago is when the everyday very bad pain in my lower back bacame unmanageable. FINALLY couldnt take it anymore and went to the doctor. After x-rays, and scans it was found that I have degenerative disc disease, and a protruding,herniated disc. He also says the hefty arthritis in my lower spine doesnt help. I am so worried that I am out of options on this. I didnt want the fusion surgery cause it has not worked great for some older friends of mine. (I'm a police officer, so most of the guys I hang around with are substantially older, but young at heart) I would not really want surgery unless I could be guaranteed a fix. So i started Physical Therapy about 6 months ago. All it did was take the edge off of the pain once in a while. I have been on Darvocett, and other nerve killers. But pain meds have to be able to be used with my job, so I try keeping that to a minimum. Anyone have any different ideas? voodoo doctor stuff? accupuncture? chiropractor? Or, the latest thing I saw was an inversion table that flips you upside down to hang by your feet, and supposedly relieves pressure from the spine. Might try that out real soon if I can. Saw one at Sam's club... Anything would be much appreciated. I cant keep keeping on with this terrible pain. At 26! Man, will I be walking anymore at 30?

I suffered from a herniated disc for over 3 years, 4 different doctors, tons of physical therapy, trips to the chiropractor, etc before I finally opted for surgery...