Anyone have a dual sport?

mopar250

Registered
Hey guys,
Kind of off topic, but was just wondering if anyone has or has had a dual sport bike. I have a 2001 400ex four wheeler that I don't ever ride and I would like to turn it into a dual sport that I could ride around on the dirt roads (I'm a farmer, gotta check that corn!), and take to work (also a machinist, gravel parking lot). I would like to think my 400 is worth 2500 to 3000 and that should buy one of the same years DS bikes. Now on to which one. I'm going to place an add in a local paper and was going to ask for a KLR 650 or XR 650 trade. Any others (reasonably) that I should consider? Any thing I should look for in these 2? I've looked at some boards but its hard to get an honest opinion on a KLR or XR board. Kind of like coming here and asking if a ZX14 is better than a busa.
Thanks!
Bill

i am looking for one myself. from all the reviews you cant go wrong with a DRZ400. Unless you will be on alot of highways the 400 is supposed to have equal power down low and weigh 40 pounds less.

I had a XR200 before I bought the DR650. The XR line of bikes are one of the tallest bikes (seat heighth) out there.

One of the guys that rides in our group has the DR400SM and likes it alot. It seems as though it has little power since I rarely see him after we take off, but if you buy the right parts, you can have more power than my 650 and it's lighter and stouter.

I've seen a couple of the DR400SM's in the showroom. The black ones are really nice looking. But I do think they are a bit small for me, and I will be doing some interstate riding I'm sure with it. The bike doesn't have to fly but it would be nice if 75 or so was possible for some kind of range.

I had a dr350s and I used to drive the highway all the time... It would hit 80 easy... but not without a little drift in the corners due to being around 99% off road
biggrin.gif
The only reason I wouldn't go with a 650 is they are heavy when dropped in mud.
e