Anybody have a dualsport?

FASTBUSA06

Registered
Thinking about getting klr650 2 ride to work on. got on klr650.net good site they
have problems like anything else just wanted some advice pros n cons.

I have been tinkering with this idea too but looking at the Hondas and Suzukis. I am not sure I want the weight of a 650 though. For my purpose I would be outfitting it with a surf rack for surf outings. There are a lot of DS riders over here. South Bay Riders - Powered by vBulletin they even have a dual sport section. Good luck!

I have some experience with dual sports. I started on a klr250 that I would street ride, trail ride, and even hit the sand dunes a hand full of times. It was too slow on the street and too heavy on the dirt and not enough power on the dunes and too heavy. I then went to a Suzuki DRZ400E that I had plated for the street. It had pretty much all the same problems. Just too slow on the street and too heavy on the dirt and sand. I do not really see the point of dual sport bikes. I now have a Honda CR250 that is light and just rips off road and a gen 1 Hayabusa that is amazing on the street. Have they fixed the KLR650 counter balance problem yet? From what I heard they were basically selling broken bikes off the showroom floors.

Yea thats what i hear they need fixing before u ride it home. But the problems are easy fixes its just
that they should fix those problems.

Depends on what you want it for. If you just want a cheap commuter I'd get a Ninja 250. Can be had cheap, reliable and frankly fun to ride once you get past constantly shifting.

If you want to hit occasional trails too then lots of folks have had good luck with the DRZ mentioned above. I've got a plated WR450F and while I can ride it on the street that's not what it's for. 7K RPM at 60 is just irritating. Main reason I wanted a plated bike is so I can trail ride in parks and forestry roads when the urge strikes.