Anybody have a bad experience with All Balls Fork seals?

Amelio

Registered
Well last week I replaced both fork seals and dust boots, I pulled the step by step instructions from this site and was really surprised at how easy the job was. I only had the left seal leaking and the bike has 8800 miles on it but I decided to do both since I was there.

Anyway I went with the All Balls seals and dust boots, the forks came apart and went back together very nicely. After replacing them I did not ride for a few days, when i did my first ride I noticed a very slight weeping which i thought may just be the white lithium grease i applied to the seal to ease the assembly. I wiped it off and have been keeping an eye on it. Went for a ride last night and when I got home it was pouring onto my rotor and caliper.

I am a rookie to working on my own bike but I am a very experienced auto tech and familiar with seals and such and no stranger to tools. I am gonna pull the forks back apart and see what could possibly be the issue.

As i mentioned it went together very nicely, I did not scar or nick the tubes during dis assembly so unless I did a bone head move and installed them upside down (I doubt it but hey anything is possible :hmmm:)I do not understand what the problem could be unless I just have some bad seals.

Anybody else have this problem with their seals? I kinda doubt it is the All Balls seal, got a lot of good response on this forum but ya never know.

LA Busa and I used these on my bike a few weeks ago and they are horrible, same thing happened to me and had to just go get OEMs from dealership.

I highly recommend everyone stay away from all ballz fork seals.

thanks for the reply I had a feeling that is what it is.....guess I am going to the dealer.

Thanks!

They are not a double contact seal like the oem ones!

Also did you bleed the cartridge when you re assembled the forks?