American Vacation "Customs" Suck

HRHDi

Dont Call Me "MeeMaw"
Donating Member
Registered
Pretty much everything else here kicks butt, however...Americans need to get over it an learn how to relax. Most other industrialized nations mandate 3 weeks off for everyone...and some, get 6 weeks...and they're just as productive as we are.

Many Europeans take 2-3 week vacations every year. And more than half of all Americans don't use all of their meesly 2 weeks/year.

I just started with a new company and I really like my job, but being a newbie, I get 10 days/year of vacation until after my 4th anniversary. I was at my last company for almost 13 years and got 24 days/year....and I used every last one of them. Wtih only 2 weeks, I don't know how I'm going squeeze in 1 Bash (much less 2), a trip to Eureka, time at the holidays, Spring Break next year and sports tournaments that my son is in. That doesn't even include a Friday here and there to go camping or on a long weekend ride.

Americans need to start demanding their time off. Bosses need to let their employees take time off. Unless you own your own business, your company isn't going to close if you take a real vacation. We're all so afraid of admitting that we enjoy not being at work; admitting that work isn't our lives. I enjoy my job, but my job isn't my life, my family is my life.

Come on, it's time we start working to live and not living to work.

Okay, rant over.

work is ok but vacation is so much better! i couldn't make it without my time off to go hang with my friends!! :beerchug:

Europeans now have jobs that pay them more and allow for these kinds of things.
I can't tell you how many Scandinavians and Germans come to south Florida for vacation and buy cars to export back home. The euro is very strong now, they can afford it.

Some of us can't :(

I agree 110%!!!

And I want naps!!! :laugh:

We work to live...shouldn't live to work...