aftermarket pipes

OB_rdalmau

Registered
I still have my stock mufflers. I might eventually change them. They are pretty plain-Jane compared, to say, the Two Brothers gorgeous slip-ons.

Even though the stock exhausts are plain looking, they sounds pretty good when you gas it.

RD

My problem with the stock exhaust is I could not hear the engine at high speed (wind noise above 100 mph) and did not like looking down at the tach to shift.

I went with the t-bros carbon, great sound, not too loud, and look quite good.

I was considering keeping my bike original. Everyone else tells me the bike is too quiet and I should reconsider. I'm not a mechanic and had a bad experience with a previous bike. Anyone else keeping their busa original, and if so, why?

Been considering a full pipe change or slip ons for the same reason...just a little to quiet for my taste. I shift fine, regardless of speed or pipes, so that isn't an issue, but when you ride every day with a CBR900RR with Two Bros carbon fiber pipes, you get to thinking that your bike should sound better...

I'm staying stock,reasons here goes: had a 89 Gxsr 1100 all stock,my friends with same year bike installed full pipes and slip ons,everyone got a ticket,had to show proof that stock pipes where on the bike after going to court,reason noise attracts the cops,upsets the neighbors.My Gxsr bike was easier to sell when kept stock.98 TL1000R kept stock and new buyer was glad to see no mod's/pipes on the bike.Hayabusa will be kept stock.If I want to make noise and upset the neighbors all I have to do is start up my Harley.

I'm probably keeping mine stock. Loud mufflers just attract unwanted attention from cops. Of course they also keep some nimrods from sideswiping your because they didn't know you were there. I don't know about FI bikes but bikes with carbs also always seem to be more finicky after full exhaust systems. Just my $.02.