Advice needed for my first AR-15 purchase

dane789

Registered
I know there are some very knowledgeable gun guys here on the org. I was wondering if anyone could give some advice to a newbie in regards to the vast world of the AR-15 rifle. I have been shooting hand guns for 20+ years, but this will be my first rifle purchase. I would like to keep my budget under $1000. It seems that there are dozens of manufactures that make this model. It can be very confusing. I saw a used Colt at the local gun show yesterday for $900 firm, A NEW Rock River Arms for $800 (no sights on it). Countless brands I've never heard of from $500 to $2500. I'm okay buying used if everything is in good shape. If there are any AR gurus here, please help steer an org brother in the right direction. Thank you

If anyone has a good deal on a used set-up, please let me know -Dan

Warsaw pact ARs usually somewhat cheaper, nice to shoot, usually have wood stock and grip. Examples are AK-47 and AK replicas (others too, don't know what they are called). US / NATO ARs look more modern, and I think they can be modded more. Just go to a gun shop and let them walk you through all of your choices.

I have never seen or heard of an ar-15 with wood stock and grip, let alone a " warsaw pact ar". under 1000 rock river and dpms are both reputable options. I have heard good things about stag but have never held one. The smith &wesson m&p 15 is nice but probably over 1000.

Peregrine Falcon has one.... I'm waiting for him to show up...

Colton! Colton! Come out, wherever you are!

Postal, every gun shop I go to says that their line is the best. I'm looking for real world opinions, not a gun smith trying to sell me his product. I'm sure you have had similar experiences.

Smith and Wesson has a ar15 sport.
Local shop has it for 649; buds online has it for 619 if I remember right.
Missing the forward assist and the dust cover.