A Look Inside FRAM, OEM, K&N Oil Filters

DougE

Registered
After struggling with getting an oil filter to go on the bike and reading how bad FRAM is, I wanted to look inside what's in these three filters. I know oil filter have been cut into already but these are busa specific filters. I had a used (10mile use) FRAM, Suzuki OEM and a K&N filter. I am not an expert and this isn't a scientifically done experiment. I just wanted to share my findings and thoughts on them.

Price - FRAM: $8.50, OEM $13.07, K&N $17.50

Summary - K&N seemed to have the best quality in materials. I was kind of surprised the OEM did not have metal end caps but it was well constructed. FRAM and OEM had rubber anti drain valve, carboard endcaps and similar filter media. With that being said, the endcap, filter media and anti drain valve were thicker in construction and felt sturdier over the FRAM. I will continue to follow the service manual and stick with OEM filters.

1. Opening them - using a grinder, i cut the caps off and the K&N filter had a thicker wall can over the OEM and FRAM. FRAM had the thinnest wall and was the easiest to cut open.

2. Anti Drain Valve - Surprised to see that FRAM and OEM had the same rubber material for the valve. OEM was double the thickness of the FRAM.

3. End Caps - K&N was the only filter that had the metal endcaps and had the bypass valve built into the support tube. FRAM and OEM both had cardboard end caps. OEM's end cap was double the thickness. I took the fram out of the bike after 10 miles and when pulling on the endcap, it was easily ripped.

4. Filter Media - K&N filter media felt sturdier. OEM and FRAM had similar filter media but once again OEM had thicker filter media than the FRAM.

IMG_5817.jpg