3rd gear wheelie

busa854

Donating Member
Registered
I have been doing second gear wheelies for some time now, but every time I would shift into third the front end would drop on me.....until today. I got a little brave today and right before I redlined second, I gassed it pretty good to get the front a little higher, then shifted to third and kept on riding. The best one I rode was to an indicated 140mph. My bike is all stock except 16T on the front. Has anyone here been able to ride into fourth gear with a relatively stock busa? I think it can be done as long as you keep it high. And don't start flaming me, I had my gear on.

But you still wheelied. and yo'll probably get flamed by someone, but not me. on that note, I'm practicing wheelies every night when I leave work on my 900rr.

<!--EDIT|yamahor
Reason for Edit: None given...|1125077811 -->

I have been practicing 1st gear power wheelies for a couple of months now. I just changed my set up to 17/43 . I can't believe the diffence. It is so much easier to lauch the front end. Question for ya, do you start your wheelie in 2nd gear or do you start out in 2nd. If you start out in 2nd gear, how do you do it, power or clutch?

I start in second gear. I just get going about 55-65 mph, clutch it, rev a little, release clutch and nail it. If you are just starting to do second gear wheelies I would suggest that you pop it up several times to get the feel for it before you actually try to ride it out. Thats what I did. The busa has so much torque that you can actually clutch a wheelie in second gear only about a foot off the ground for a pretty good distance. Another thing I always do before riding a wheelie is to get all the back against the hump. It will help a little bit. Good luck and be careful. Oh, one more thing; cover your brake pedal. If you get too high, give it a tap, but don't panic and brake too hard or you'll have a rough landing.