New Jacket

bigoltool

Registered
I’ve been riding with my Firstgear Jaunt T2 Jacket for Several years now. This spring I had a wee “get off” and while my Jacket did a fantastic job of protecting me, it did sustain lots of abrasions and a few small tears. The bulk of the Damage was easily repaired with “Tenacious Tape” (which I can’t recommend highly enough for this type of repair!). While structurally still very sound, it is not as “Water resistant” as it once was , and I ride in the rain often. I started looking for a replacement at the end of the summer.

My requirements for a new jacket were fairly straightforward. I wanted a waterproof shell (have my own mid layer, so liner not needed), World class armor, Decent ventilation and a much more form fit than that provided by my Jaunt. Firstgear makes great stuff but the proportions for this jacket are a bit skewed towards the rotund. While the arms, neck and upper chest areas are fine, the Gut are is at least a few sizes too large for even me. I am 6’4” with a 52” in chest and usually am in a 2XL. I had made a short list of prospective replacements. From Firstgear the New Kilimajaro and the TPG Rainier jacket (already have the matching pants to the latter), the Revit Sand 2, and the one outlier was the Held Hakuna Jacket, which is not sold in the US, but is available through the Visor shop at a really nice price even delivered to the US.