Gearing for top end? Buddy has a zx14 and i want to leave him.

kaybusa

Registered
i see a lot of gear swaps telling how to be more zip by going up in the rear teeth. Im considering going down a few teeth i leave in the DC area and we get a lot of top end rides with my buddies and i pretty much leave everything except that damm 14. we trade top end leads a lot. I know if i go down in the rear he may leave me off the line but i want him in his mirrors cause im comming. I have a full tye force for now a air box mod and PC3 is next i guess i need a tre also. Im still new to the Busa's so ANY help i can get would be cool.

start with the tre the limiter is whats keeping you behind, the kawi's tend to be around 186 and the busa's limiter tends to be around 184-185

at the drag strip the stock busa's beat the stock 14s every time...1/4 mile

If your both of equal dimensions (height/weight/girth) both bikes are so even in power that whoever gets the jump will probably stay ahead. If you're not going to add more power to the engine then the best thing for you to do is gear the bike for 189mph and practice your shifting and tuck.

when you say gear for 189mph what gear are you speaking of? Also i hear with the tre it may hurt your proformance unless you are at top end so shouls i be looking for a switchable tre that i can switch on when im toped out?

swap the rear sprocket to a 42 tooth (+2). Talk to Greg (smithabusa) about his mod for the top end. A tre that only effects 6th gear is the best choice if you go that route. The other option would be to just flash the ECU.

If you were closer I would say just to come by sometime and I could flash your ECU for the best fix.

OK wouldnt +2 in the rear give me more bottom than top just like switching to a bigger gear on a ten speed right? ill do a search for smithbusa and talk to him but i dont know anything about flashing the ECU where do i get this done? Im in the D.C. area 20011 zip. Im new to this so thanks for the help.