2008 battery problems

hemi

Registered
i have only had my busa for about 3 weeks. The second day after riding for a few hours it seemed like it was struggling to start. Sure enough, luckily i made it home, and tried to start it after i got home, it turned over a few times and then nothin. I charged it all night with my battery tender and it has been fine for about 2 weeks. Tonight i was out runnin around and almost got stranded at the gas station bc it started doing the same thing. Should i take it back to the dealer and have them check the battery, or charge it all night again. It seems to do it after riding for a while, shouldn't the alternator be keeping it charged while riding? Any ideas

I'm no mechanic, but it definitely sounds like you have either a charging problem or a battery problem. My 08 has never done that (6200 miles now), so I'd definitely get it checked out.

D

Sounds like a charging problem. Easy enough to check. Take it back to the dealer and they can put a load test on the battery as well as check the charging system for performance. Should only take a short time to check both.

If the bikes new and is under warranty take it to the shop. It could be a bad battery, but it could also be a charging problem or a drain on the battery that needs to be fixed. I only killed the battery once on my '06 and never on the '08. That one time was my fault because I had turned the switch to the park position and left the tail light burning.

Two things: 1) the dealership may not have charged it properly. Happened to mine, and it was replaced under warranty; 2) if it sits for an extended period, it'll discharge fairly quickly. I disconnect the negative terminal after every ride, since it may sit for two weeks or more between rides. Just need to reset the clock each time.