opinions/info please (pics)

teamorion22

Registered
2marrow i am going to get my new tires put on. tonight i removed my wheels. please look at my rear sprocket. it has about 1500 miles on it. its seems more worn than it should be. also should i get new rubber weights inside the rear sprocket hub? and please tell me those are called?

IMG_0478.jpg

IMG_0479.jpg

IMG_0481.jpg

IMG_0482.jpg

IMG_0489.jpg

Your sprocket and dampners, thats what they're called, look fine from what I can see from the pics.

Looks to me like you never adjusted your chain in your 1500 miles. It still looks good but keep an eye on your tension so you dont ruin the chain and sprocket before its time. I personally ride the ZZZ after the extension and that thing dont stretch for nothing.

Steve

You'll also see the rubber dampers referred to as the "cush drive." As for the sprocket, it looks ok to me, but I'm no expert. You'll really want to look out for rounding of the teeth. Once they start to round off on one side it'll be new chain and sprocket time.

Good luck with your tires.

thanks for replies. are those rubber pieces called rubber cush drives? this is the first after market sprocket and chain. my stock got about 18000. I dont ride tooo hard. and i keep tension a lil more than 1in from top to bottom. is this correct? this is a vortex 43. chain is ek (zvx?) the one that may be rated just below the zzz. from what i read the zzz is more for riders that ride a lil more aggressive :whistle: i cant wait to get my new tires

Your sprocket looks fine.
Those "Rubber Weights" are part of the Cush Drive. I very much doubt if they need replacing. I had them replaced on my first Busa' at 90,000 kilometres (56,000 miles)!!

ah, and i just saw my favorite tool, the butter knife, in the first pic. not even snap on can make a more efficient tool.

Good time to get a good cleaning on that chain. I would submerge/run my chain through a small container of kerosene and brush/wipe.