UPDATE:  Found my coolant leak

omslaw

Michelle owns my Busa
Staff member
Administrator
So today was really nice outside - I cleaned the garage and around noon, got the Busa on the lift and started to tear her down...

For those who may not know, I've been hunting down a coolant leak for 4 years now! I've taken the head out twice already, have had it checked and decked - cylinders, too! Well, it's still leaking!
pissed.gif
I *know* it's leaking into #2 - I've seen the condensation in #2 throttle body. - also leakdown test confirms this.

OK - so back today, I get it all apart and find this in #2 - again, it was expected:

cylinder1.jpg

I start poking around some more and guess what I find on one of the intake valves??

valve1.jpg

Yup - you got it, that's Engine Ice ON TOP of one of the intake valves!!! Now, I'm no expert, but I can think of only ONE way that it got there....and that's a crack up there!

This seems to explain why my oil isn't getting contaminated - it burns off - and what is there just sits until I start her up again!

So, unless someone can find the crack and fix it - I think I'm gonna need anudda head!
crazy.gif

Anyone got a known-good head??

Not sure if this is what ur lookin for slaw...

But here ya go!

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2004-Suzuki-Hayabusa-stock-engine-cylinder-head_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ35595QQihZ016QQ
itemZ260214928620QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW" onclick="window.open(this.href,'_blank');return false;">Head on fleBay</a>

so how much water have you been leaking? normally water will clean all the carbon off the combustion chamber and leave is shiny new looking.. that hole does not look any cleaner than the others..

Yeah, problem is finding someone locally to do it.