First time motorcycle drag racer? (long read)

Mr Bogus

Trouble Makers Inc.
Donating Member
Registered
So you want to drag race your bike for real...

While I am no expert on "bike" racing per se.. I have drag raced for close to 30 years. In that time I have seen tens of thousands of races and been in thousands of my own.. (both land and water) I also worked for a NHRA member track.. (new appreciation for track workers for that effort)

It is a sport that defies age, gender and brawn.. It is a ballet of knowledge, consistency, equipment and money.. without a good balance, you will never win a championship..

Drag racing is a competition of acceleration over a measured distance.. most are 1/8 and ¼ mile contests (my preference is the longer) Street racing is two fools with machines throwing caution (and brains) to the wind.

In “organizedâ€￾ racing, both riders get an equal start, the distance is measured and there is timing equipment to verify actual performance.. (you also get an ambulance, fire crew and rescue people should things go very bad).. This is never the case in street racing..

Although on the top it looks pretty darn simple. Two guys line up, the light turns green and you go like hell.. This is in effect what happens but getting there is a good bit more to the process.

Although what I have detailed below is a somewhat over simplified process, it should get you through the first race without too much stress.. I am sure others will add key points I may have left out by accident or deliberately, but there is always something to add to this sport.. (makes it fun for a long time)

I suppose I would say it is a lot of small tasks that are combined to make a single job.. Bike prep, trailer prep, pit selection, pit setup, staging lane routines, burn out routines, staging routines, racing techniques and then back to do it all again.. (this is the simple list, the long list is a bit much for here and is custom to every racer)