Water injection and intercooler

bluesilver

Registered
G'Day, I am new to Turbos and I just have a question regarding water injection and intercoolers.

What are the difference between them and how do they effect the turbo?

I have ben looking at some kits and they have listed water injection as an extra or a intercooler as an extra.

I was trying to get the Busa to run at about 260-280hp on pump fuel.
Also not too sure what engine mods i will need to do to run this hp.

Any information on any of these questions is appreciated.

Water injection and intercoolers basically serve the same function, that is to cool the incoming charge from the turbo. This lowers the combustion chamber temp. which helps prevent detonation. The higher the boost the higher the temp. of the charge. They are both good safeguards for boost pressure over 6 lbs.

Ok, Thanks.

As I am planing ro run about 260-280hp on pump fuel Would the boost be over the 6lbs and be in the need for an intercooler?

Still trying to work my way through this.
also why I am here is there any such kit that i can get for the hp that I am after?
I basically want a kit with everthing I need, cut to lenght ready to bolt on.
I am also planing of running a full exhust (no dump pipe)

Any information appreciated.

Go water injection it's an easier install, it's cheaper, you won't have issues with your tire rubbing your intercooler, you'll run hot if your not moving at least 40 mph {intercooler blocks airflow to the radiator},I check my small tank every other fuel fill up and it normally still has plenty of h2o in it still. You should be good with 6-8 lbs of boost on a stock motor and with a spacer plate 9-11 with H2o injection. You may be able to run more boost with an intercooler {12-15 lbs} but at those boost levels your going to make 300+ HP and you'll have to build your engine to handle the extra power and torque. Anyway your going to love BOOOOOOSSSSSSTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, Thanks, some good info there.