What am I not thinking of?

mcantar

Registered
So I'm building a streetfighter Busa for a contest on another forum, and a TD04 turbo just kinda landed in my lap. So, on it goes. One of the big aspects of the build is DIY and cost savings (not to be confused with cutting corners, mind you). That means kits and pre-made stuff is off the table for the most part.
Anyway, I plan on fabricating the header out of SS or Ti, the plenum out of Al or CF, I have an intercooler core in mind that I'll have to fabricate the tanks for, and I'll take an idea from a budget turbo write up I saw and run a T-fitting off the oil sensor for the feed line.
I've never done a turbo build before, what am I not thinking of that I'll need to address?

If it's an internally gated turbo you'll want to change that. Td04 turbos (I'm thinking is a 16g mitsu turbo) are known to boost creep bad. An external gate will greatly help with that.

I'll need an oil return, but that's no big deal.

What about fuel system? What you thinking about that?

If it's an internally gated turbo you'll want to change that. Td04 turbos (I'm thinking is a 16g mitsu turbo) are known to boost creep bad. An external gate will greatly help with that.

I'll need an oil return, but that's no big deal.

What about fuel system? What you thinking about that?

Porting the turbo properly will help with the boost creep issue greatly, although an external gate is preferred, and you want to be sure to position the turbo itself high enough so the drain will gravity feed . . .

Thanks for the input.
Yep, it's off a 3000GT, not sure what year though. Internally wastegated, but from everything I'm seeing I shouldn't have a problem with boost creep at the levels it'll be running (7-10psi). I'll run it and see, and if I notice it creeping we'll throw an EWG on there.