Tobin seats

yelaboy

Registered
Ok...I'm still learning about the zillions of mods that you can make on these bad boys. I have been contemplating ordering the tobin seat, but I wanted some feedback from the org experts first. How does it ride? What is the purpose of giving your waist size (what if someone with a different size drives your busa)? Does it ride better than the stock seat? Any thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated.

Ok...I'm still learning about the zillions of mods that you can make on these bad boys.  I have been contemplating ordering the tobin seat, but I wanted some feedback from the org experts first.  How does it ride?  What is the purpose of giving your waist size (what if someone with a different size drives your busa)?  Does it ride better than the stock seat?  Any thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated.
Yela -
I am a big fan of Tobin seats (going through withdrawl 'cause I loaned mine to a friend who is trying to decide).  I do think they ride better (at least better than the seats that I had).
I went from a stock '01 seat, to a Gel, to a Tobin.  Liked the Tobin so much that I gave the Gel seat away (to another member of course!).  The riding position is lower, which works very well for those of us with stubby little legs.  The seat is thinner at the neck so your legs aren't bowed out.  You can zip the optional hump pad on to the seat to give you support while riding with the hump.
Waist size is so that Tobin can form the seat lip (at the back of the seat) to your size, so that the seat is more comfortable to you.  In my opinion, it does ride better than a stock seat, but in the interest of disclosure, here are a couple fo things that I have found in the year plus that I have had a "Tobin":
Because the seat is so thin, if you sit on the bike for awhile (like in traffic, or at a really long light) you will feel the seat pan and can get a little annoying.