rear wheel problem

black diamond busa

Team Jacob
Registered
2001 hayabusa 19,000 miles.

im new to working on bikes but not trucks so i will best explain this the best i can. on my rear wheel where the gear is bolted to the wheel i would think to call the "HUB". when shut off and in gear i have slack in the "HUB" front to back, which i dont know if thats normal but i also have slack side to side. i made sure the gear is tight and all the play is coming from the "HUB". any ideas would help because im lost and dont know if thats normal. trying to get everything ready for a 1000 mile plus ride on july 4th weekend.

Sounds like cush drive berrings. They are the little back 1/2 moon looking things in the Hub behind the sprocket....Gen II anyways, I don't know what the Gen I looks like but I know they have them too.

2001 hayabusa 19,000 miles.

im new to working on bikes but not trucks so i will best explain this the best i can. on my rear wheel where the gear is bolted to the wheel i would think to call the "HUB". when shut off and in gear i have slack in the "HUB" front to back, which i dont know if thats normal but i also have slack side to side. i made sure the gear is tight and all the play is coming from the "HUB". any ideas would help because im lost and dont know if thats normal. trying to get everything ready for a 1000 mile plus ride on july 4th weekend.

I'm not sure from your description if you have too much slack there, but it's possible. The hub just pushes in to the wheel where it's supported by 5 rubber spacers called cush drives, they wear out and get sloppy. They're also a cheap, easy replacement.

Local dealer, also somebody may want to post the torque spec for the axle nut. I think it was like 66 or 76 but I'm probably wrong, it's been a while.