How does the Air Shifter work.

eber820

Registered
Im new at the mods and i hear alot on the air shifter. How does it work? How does it benefit my 1/4 mile run? Sorry for the question but im barely learning about the 1/4 mile. Im new but i already love and i havent even raced my busa yet. Any tips on mods will be greatly appreciated.:lol:

How does a foot shifter benefit your 1/4 mile:
Many people will claim that an air shifter will take 1 or 2 tenths off of your 1/4 mile time. Thats both true and false. A good foot shifter can pre-load the shifter and blip the throttle in under 100 milli seconds. An air shifter will kill ignition for 75 to 100 milli seconds. I have seen foot shifted bikes go low 8s. BUT, it takes a very skilled rider to do that. I sure can't. Most riders have a hell of a hard time getting there foot up onto the pegs in time for the 1 -2 shift, risking hitting the limiter. Other foot-shift riders launch with there left foot up on the pegs so that they can catch the 1-2, but this leaves them horribly off balance. If they break the tire on launch, with one foot up on the pegs, the results aren't pretty. For the average racer (in my case below average) you will go faster more consistently with an air shifter. Cycle tek makes a pretty good product.

:thumbsup:agrre with Draco. I use the cycle-tek air shifter. Buy using it you dont have to lift off the throttle ,all ya do is hit the button.

When you hit shifter button it kills motor for miliseconds and shaft pushes into next gear.No need let off throttle @ all. I KNOW ON MY BIKE i cant shift 1to second in timwe without.My 60ft time is only 1.50 but im old overweight +kinda slow.I use the pingle electric shifter kinda pricy but dont have put air in.You turn key on pull in clutch push shifter button in 5 seconds start bike +its ready.it does shift up+down I only would use down shift @ very slow speeds.