GoPro adheisive mount question

buss

Banned
I was wondering when applying the GoPro adheisive mount to the fairing is that permanent?

Another question I was wondering is how secure is your camera when mounted with the adheisive mount?

I would hate to lose my camera at hwy. speeds.

They can be gotten off, but you have to take it slow, with a hair dryer to heat it up a little. That tape is 3M VHB tape, it's basically Super Glue Tape.

You need to mount on a clean, dry, wax-free (clean w/alcohol first) and warm surface (room temp), then you need to WAIT MINIMUM 24 HOURS BEFORE USING IT to let it 'set'. The set time is CRITICAL for a strong permanent bond.

I've been wearing one on my helmet for 2 years without issue on trackdays at high speed - many others have seen them in a lot of places last just fine; normally the mount itself will break before the glue seal gives. If you put it in a vertical place (fairing) with a lot of vibration, do yourself a favor and tether it if you can. You aren't gonna lose it at highway speed.

P.S. Search for "GOPRO" and you will find a huge GoPro thread which offers a TON of info.

They can be gotten off, but you have to take it slow, with a hair dryer to heat it up a little. That tape is 3M VHB tape, it's basically Super Glue Tape.

You need to mount on a clean, dry, wax-free (clean w/alcohol first) and warm surface (room temp), then you need to WAIT MINIMUM 24 HOURS BEFORE USING IT to let it 'set'. The set time is CRITICAL for a strong permanent bond.

I've been wearing one on my helmet for 2 years without issue on trackdays at high speed - many others have seen them in a lot of places last just fine; normally the mount itself will break before the glue seal gives. If you put it in a vertical place (fairing) with a lot of vibration, do yourself a favor and tether it if you can. You aren't gonna lose it at highway speed.

P.S. Search for "GOPRO" and you will find a huge GoPro thread which offers a TON of info.