Busa powered track car oil surge

beado

Registered
Hi guys noob here from Australia running a stock spec Gen 1 bussa in a Sports Prototype race car. Recently had an engine failure (rod bearing) due to suspected oil pressure loss due to low oil level/ oil surge. I have rebuilt the motor and fitted a 360degree swinging pickup. Locally made similar to konieg. I have recently run the car at a sprint track day and noticed that the oil pressure fluctuates (manual gauge) when weaving on warm up laps between 40 and 60 psi. Once I am up to race speed, the pressure fluctuates on change of direction and stabilises when the g force is sustained at that direction. The pressure never really drops dramatically low only drops off when back at idle which I understand is Fairly normal for bussa engines. I'm running the high flow oil pump gear stock pressure relief valve. Originally was running Castrol Power 1 5w40 when engine expired. Now running Castrol Power 1 10w40. Supplier of pickup advised they use Castrol Supercar 10w60 in all their race engines. I now attain oil level by running the engine at about 3000rpm and check oil is between 3/4 to full on the sight glass. Should I expect this lag as the pickup moves to follow the oil? Has anyone here had any experience with the swinging pickup fluctuating like this on manual gauge or data logging? Just concerned that this might cause another failure.

Thanks
Screenshot_20230228-225030.png

This same issue has been covered here before, several years ago, and in 2 different threads(2 seperate cars and owners).
I remember reading them, but I'm sorry, I cannot remember the thread names.
Those engine's did not have a swinging pickup, but if I recall correctly, one of them had perforated panels/slats/dividers welded vertically, hanging down off the custom windage tray, to prevent the oil from being able to slosh side to side as much.
And, for what it's worth, .75 full in the site glass is 3.75 quarts.