Ducati help

ditchdr

Registered
I have a Ducati Monster 695 in the shop I picked up last week.. I was told by the guy I bought it from that it needed a new fuel pump, or so he said.. I bought one off CL and installed it today. Still no start. It has spart and has fuel and appers to be timmed. Anyone in here know what other things to look for, or maybe where I can get a free service book on this thing? I just want it fixed and sold ASAP, with out putting anymore money into it.

Thanks
Matt

you just bought it and want it sold ???

Don't like it or just have more problems than what you stated?

I was thinking about getting a 696...

It apears to be timed? How did you check it? There are 3 things you need for an engine to run: Fuel, fire(at the right time) and air. Also may want to check the cam and crank sensors. Assuming it has them. I've never worked on a duc. I work on cars for a living and am trying to think of things that may carry over to the bike world.

Hey bud. I would first and foremost check the voltage regulator. It sounds like that might be your problem. I have seen a similar situation once before and it was the reg. Easy fix.

Monster 695 is a very simple engine. Exactly what is it NOT doing. Turning over and not firing, Not Turning Over, Attempting to fire but not starting. We need to know exactly what the bike is doing. Also, where are you located, I can probably give you some info on where you can get help or a MANUAL. Also, a Monster is probably the easiest motorcycle in the world to work on. And the Monster (since it's a Duc starter bike) is very easy:beerchug:

motor spins but wont fire.. Ran the batter own so I used my jump box still nothing. I am in Charleston SC, closest Duc dealer is Champion Ducati, and they wont loan a book. GOnna call on tues to see if I can get some stuff emailed to me tho.