New job offer...what to do??

BUSA_CHeMiST

Donating Member
Registered
Ok, will keep this short and at the same time try to give as much detail to my dilemma without generalizing it too much...here goes.

So, I've been with my current company for 1.5 years now. I am a Drilling Fluids Engineer down here in East Texas, pretty much the heart of Natural Gas drilling wells. I absolutely love what I do, and especially that I get to do it in this area.

Recently, a very good friend and ex-coworker of mine went to another Drilling Fluids company. We have kept in touch since he left (mid November 2007) and he has repeatedly said that if there ever was a position with his new company available, he would give me a call. Well, HE CALLED!

The company that I am currently employed with operates in 77 different countries and employs over 15,000 people, majority of which are engineers. The company he works for is an up and coming independent, operating in 4-5 states here in the southern US and employs roughly 125 people. So, needless to say, the job security will be there with the larger, but obviously its not going to be 100%. The new company is very innovative, doing some very state of the art drilling systems.

Here's the dilemma. The NEW company is offering me $25,000/year MORE than my salary right now. Yes, that's not a typo. PLUS, i will be getting in on what can still be considered the ground floor of the company and will be able to potentially grow and expand with them. I will be able to stay here in my house and not have to relocate, and the work load will inherently be the same as I'm doing now. Job security is one of my fears, but i think everyone has those thoughts, no matter how large the company is. (remember ENRON???)