Garage Floors

Hi guys, I'm interested in painting my garage floor for the new arrival (2008 Hayabusa) Would you suggest painting or another option. And if so what kind of paint would you recommed. Thanks for any input.

I used rhe rustoleum garage floor epoxy on mine. it was easy to apply and 4 years later it looks the same as it did the day I put it down. a 2 car garage will set you back about $150 for the kit (you'll need 2 of them at $75 each) plus paint brushes and rollers.

Painting the floors adds a nice touch, but I park my bike on carpet so her feet don't hurt
beerchug.gif

I used garage floor epoxy (from Home Depot or Lowes) for my shop.  In a light grey color.  That was about 5 years ago and it still looks new.

As a professional house painter, I have to say DO NOT paint a garage floor with normal latex or acrylic paint. It will not bond well enough to the floor to stay put. Something as normal as hot car or mototcycle tires can make it lose its adhesion and start to come off of the floor. Use an epoxy. It's made for the application and as stated above will cost you around $160 to do yourself, and will last many years. With paint you will need to repaint every year and will look like crap where the old paint has peeled off and the area has been repainted. You really can't sand the peeled off areas to try to taper the edges. House paint tends to get gummy when the heat from sanding warms it up. This will also make it loose it's grip on the cement, creating a larger problem.

So, Big Wall what do these guys use that looks like clear coating (thick though) on their floors a car or Harley Dealerships
rock.gif
? Base looks like marble with a clear plastic acrylic cover about a inch thick ! Looks  
SHOCKED.gif
Great but no one at the dealership knows, or will tell me  
beerchug.gif

I supervise the batchmaking department of the only Ace Hardware paint factory in the world.  If you see a gallon of Ace paint, it came from me.