clutch problem

barkleyw

Registered
Greetings everyone....just bought my first Hayabusa - 1999. When I brought it home I drove it around the block and it ran fine. It needed a new clutch lever so I replaced that and now it seems like the clutch is not fully releasing.

I did not open up the hydraulic reservoir - just pulled the lever off and put a new one on.

Not sure if the lever is related - read some things about cleaning the slave cylinder but it ran fine the last time I parked it a few days ago.

When the clutch lever is fully released the pin that pushes into the reservoir does not appear to be pushing it in.

Thoughts?

Why did it need a new clutch lever?

SEEMS like the clutch is not fully releasing - can you give more detail to this?

Does the bike not run OK? In all gears?

And :welcome:

Thanks - glad to be around a bunch of folks that know this bike as I am still learning.

The clutch lever was broken a few inches up from the end ball.

The bike ran good until I changed the lever....(I also changed the starter and kick stand but don't think they are related)

After I put the lever on I took it for a test spin - got into 2nd but then realized it wasn't fully releasing in 1st or 2nd.

it would drive but no real take off.

I do not have all of the history on this bike - it has been modified but don't know if anything was done to the clutch.

Also - the guy I bought it from said this bike was bored over to 1704cc? Is that even possible?

Trying to learn what I bought here as I never spoke with the previous owner - bought it through a shop.

another thing is the clutch begins to release at the very end position of the lever or right as you are letting go of it. I took the lever off and left it off for a few days - not sure if that contributed to anything?

Not sure what controls the point the clutch engages/disengages but I think if I can adjust that then I can have it release the whole way I think.