New Owner Questions

Perry James Gowdy

Registered
Hello everyone,

I'm Perry and I'm the new owner of a 2006 Limited Edition Hayabusa! I've been riding motorcycles for about 5 years. I started off on a ZZR 600 that I owned for about 1.5 years. After that I wanted to try cruisers for awhile and moved to a Suzuki Intruder 800. Three years later I'm selling my cruiser and am back on a sport bike (my true love). With my recent purchase, I have a ton of questions about owning a Hayabusa and I'm hoping that some of you could answer them!

I'm going to be taking my Hayabusa on long trips. In about a month I'll almost definitely be taking the bike on a 2000-3000 mile trip. Here are a couple of questions:

What kind of saddlebags or bags in general do people generally outfit the Busa with?

What kind of rain gear would YOU Busa owners recommend? (I have a jacket already that is rain resistant, but I've always ridden with pants and would like to change this.)

What are some affordable cold weather gloves YOU Busa owners would recommend? (I've owned two different pairs and have been unsatisfied with both.)

What are some general maintenance things that I should be frequently doing to the bike?

Okay, as far as traveling questions that's about all I have. My next few questions have to do in general with the bike.

I've read some about the TRE addon that eliminates the top speed restriction. What are the general thoughts on this? Have many of you added this to your Busa? If so, did you find it to be worth it?

What tires do you generally outfit the bike with? I've always gone with the Power Pilots by Michelin on my previous sport bike, but I didn't know if there was possibly a type that worked really well with Busas.

My last question is almost definitely subjective and I'm sure I'll get a ton of different answers, but I'd still like to ask it.