What does this button do ???

ELIMINATOR GUY

Registered
Hi Guys,

I have been saying for the last 5 years " My next bike is gona be a Hayabusa" but something always came up and I ended up with a zzr6 or 1200 bandit and so on, anyway,
I bought a 2000 busa last week in the UK, it has never seen rain, 2 owners from new, both bike enthusiasts and kept it mint.

When I insured it, they asked did it have alarm or imobiliser fitted. I said no as I was not sure, so to start with my daft questions....

I just noticed that my ignition key has a button on it (like my car key fob) when when I press it nothing happens. is it a key fob ? does it need a battery ? did 2000 busa's come with factory fitted alarms or immobiliers ?

thanks in advice, and you can expect more daft questions in the near future as this is the first one I have ever ridden.

Eliminator Guy

Welcome to the oRg. None of the model year busa's came with factory alarms or immobilizers to my knowledge. There were some very slight European changes but I am not sure those included an alarm. Can you post a picture of the key fob?

original busa had nothing by way of immobiliser or alarm...its old school...the button is probably just part of a fancy key holder...only 2 or 3 areas on the bike were an alarm can fit....under the pillion seat, under the rear left side of the tank and under either front inner dash panel.

Congrats on the bike...you'll love it...had a 2000, 2003 and now a 2012...racked up around 20,000 miles amongst them and not one regret beyond the fact i wasted money trying other bikes in between.

I have heard that some of the European bikes had chip keys, which I guess would be a form of immobilizer. Someone with more knowledge may be able to chime in soon.

Ive never seen a key like that before. Maybe you can get normal key cut and give it a try to see if it works? That would tell ya if the key was anything special to the bike or alarm.

My 2011 has a immobilizer built in, but no button on the key.