buying from craigslist

spanglaz

Registered
Hi org,
Ok, so im finally ready to buy a busa! To give you guys some background i've been a member of this site for the longest even though i didnt own a hayabusa. My first bike was a TL1000r which i didnt have much time to ride(less than 6 mths) before someone hit in a mcdonalds parking lot. So its now been two years, finished school and evere since the day i graduated the busa has been on my mind. Now I've found a guy selling his bike on craigslist and wanted some advice. When i go to meet and review the bike in person what quesions should i ask? what should i keep in mind when i'm looking the bike over? Any and all advice its welcomed. thanks guys!

Ask to see maintenance records. Check the chain for lube and see how clean it is. Check the oil and see how clean it is. Ask when the brake pads have been replaced and check the tires. If maintenance was neglected, so was the bike.

Look for a after market stator cover and bar ends, signs that she's been down before. Ask of they are the original owner. Will they let you test ride?

touch the forks near the seals for leaks, rounded teeth on the rear sprocket, run the bike for several minutes to smell burning oil, and steam from a leaky radiator. that should be a decent checklist to avoid future costly repair. go with someone and meet at a public place for safety reasons. some guy around here got jumped and robbed by 4 dudes over a phone sale on craigslist.

hi all. Thanks for the feedback. im go;nna keep it all in mind when i go to look the bike over. If all goes well i'll post pics!

Any chance you're near the Chattanooga area? This one just went on the market yesterday. Click Me

It has been well cared for, and the seller is a highly reputable member (moderator) here on the org.

Good luck with whatever you decide. :thumbsup: