How much should I be paying for a 2004 with 5500 miles??

RickS

Registered
Hi All,

I'm new to hayabusa.org. I read this site extensively about 6 years ago when I almost bout a slightly user 2004 Busa in fantastic condition but had to hold off due to the 1k /year insurance premium I'd be paying out here in NJ. Bought a ZREX instead cause if the insurance break on a naked bike.

Anyway I sold that about 4 years ago due to money issues and now I'm in a position to actually get a Hayabusa. I'm looking @ a 2004 (ins is only $340 for full coverage thru Progressive - what a change! ) with 5500 miles on it. It's in good condition, never been layed down or abused. It just has a couple scratched on the side faring and a small chip in the gas tank paint - i think this is normal for an 8-9 year old bike. 100% stock with new tires on it. Now the guy is looking for $6200 firm for it. From the data I have been able to pull together (ebay -KBB -NADA)this looks a bit on the high side for a 2004.

I know this is the right place to come when looking for the real value of one of these special bikes. Let me know what you guys think. Also - I'm 6'2 and I'm a little cramped up on the bike due to a degenerated knee I'll need replaced soon (I'm 44 - 8 knee surgeries). I see folks have done things like added height to the seat and change out the pegs to lower them a bit. All this would add to the space I need. Anyone else have any ideas on how to get a bit more leg room?

Thx , Rick

Welcome to the oRg. We have a member here that can set you up with Buell pegs and lower your feet. You can also look into heli bars to help straighten you up as well. Seat options will vary. For an 04, call the bank and see what the loan value is and start your price there. For clean condition you can go up, for worse condition you can come down. :beerchug: :welcome: