Could you have avoided this accident

Easy E

Registered
Here is an accident that I think could have been avoided.(not that I want to jinx myself) Whatcha think.
Crash: Rider Snaps Leg In Low Speed Collision - YouTube[/url]

Last edited by a moderator:
It's easy to say, "I could have done this or that" when you aren't in a situation because we're looking at it from a third person perspective, with mental calmness.
It's like watching a horror movie and yelling, "Stop hesitating and shoot the ****er in the head!"
When someone is in the situation like, a million things are racing in your head, not to mention the heart that beating a million miles a minute, with clammy hands and everything moving in slow-motion.
It looked like he had plenty of time to swerve out of her way though, I'm pretty sure he kept thinking, "This ***** is gonna stop. This ***** is gonna stop. Thi--****!"
Personally I'm a really defensive driver so I would have tried to swerve out of the way, whether I thought she saw me or not.
Better safe than sorry, and in this case, he was sorry.

ummm it doesnt even seem like he grabbed a handfull of brakes, he didnt use his rear brake at all and stuck his leg out instead... and as far as loud exhaust that bike looks like a 250 ninja

I'd have to say... probably not.

We are all looking at the accident on video and therefor focused on the car.

Aside from that, the thread title puts your head in the "where/when?" mode.

The guy just got on his bike, he probably is still digesting breakfast, he's thinking about making sure all of his cameras are on and pointed the right way, and he probably just had a text argument with his girlfriend.... all while pulling out doing 28 on a familiar street with no obvious danger.

So no... I think I probably would crashed it too under those circumstances.