Need Recommendation on Replacement Tires

MichaelSozzi

Registered
Hello All,

I was wondering if you could lend some of your recommendations.

After 7K miles, I am going to need to replace the stock tires on my 2004 Busa and wanted some advice. (yes I only rode it 7K miles in 7 years!)

I am essentially a law abiding rider and only rarely get too crazy on the throttle or in the turns, so I don't need a super sticky street compound. I am looking to replace them with a good grade of sport touring tire so I can get more miles out of them.

Any suggestions?

Regards,

Mike

First of all.... Welcome aboard!!

I'm no expert on tires!!. But, I have a set on the way right now. since I like curves, I decided to get some Bridgestone BT016pro. From my research 7000 miles is about what people get out off a set of touring tires. Now..... If I understood your post right. You are still on the original set of tires from 2004. Again I'm no expert on this but, depending on the kind of climate your bike is stored. I would be freaking out If I knew I was riding on 7-8 years old tires unless they were properly stored(climate conditions wise). That being said, we have members that have 100k miles on their bikes and some of them use AVON STORM tires. I'm pretty sure they'll be here soon to give some advice and exact numbers.

welcome, Mike. Be ready to get swarmed by ideas from all directions (HINT: after OIL, TIRES is one of the most often asked/discussed topics here). In fact, a subforum was made just for this reason: Tires

Your needs in tires are very similar to mine (premium on mileage vs grip) and my research, I chose Pirelli Angels purely for cost reasons with the Avon Storm and Michelin PR 2 as other contenders

I am looking to replace them with a good grade of sport touring tire so I can get more miles out of them.