Cheap Motels and Hayabusa Theft Worries

Trout

Registered
To those of you that take your Hayabusa on overnighters... Do you use any sort of theft prevention system or device? Or do you just keep your comprehensive insurance up to date?

I've been touring around for 10 years and never really worried about any of my previous bikes, but I think this one might be more of a theft target.

Have any of you had your bike lifted from the parking lot of a cheap motel?

Insurance. That's all I can do. A determined thief will get it either way. Unless you can pull it in your room with you...

That's why they have all that space right as you open the door, didn't they tell you that. Not the busa but same concept. Bike was probably cleaner than the room but the manager still brought me towels for the floor. And they even supply bike covers to keep it warm on those chilly evenings, not much on the patterns though. :rofl:

I did let them know I was bringing it in because my room ended up being right next to front door/office, at first the lil indian lady owner said no but when I said I would just somewhere else she had the manager set me up with the towels so it didn't catch anything from the floor since it didn't have any slippers. :laugh:

DSCN0486.jpg

DSCN0487.jpg

Full coverage, disc locks (front and back) and a cover. Not gonna stop a thief but hope that the cover keeps bike out of sight and the locks slow them down a bit.

Take her inside if you can. Cruise around the building and pick out a room or two that look like they'll have good access for the bike, then ask for a specific room number when you check in. In case that's not an option, I take a bike cover and disc locks for each wheel.

2011 Summer Busa Trip-19 - Copy.jpg

Yep, Insurance is the fall back, either a place with 24/7 security in parking garage or bottom floor and roll it in. Some folks trailer, so then they get the trailer and the bike. Thieves :laugh: