transmission problem

barqawy

Registered
i recently bought a 2006 hayabusa , it only has 1st ,2nd and 3rd gear no gears higher than that the shifter pedal stops there ! the guy i bought it of told me he replaced all of the gears and parts in it but the mechanic who worked on it disapeared ! someone told me it might needs some kinda adjustments , anybody have any idea about that ? im a car mechanic i dont know much about bikes but im willing to take the chance and open it if its somthing minor ..

can anybody help me or gimme an idea of what im gonna face if i open it

thanks guys

im guessing shift fork.. just a extremely wild gues tho wont shift up while ur riding or is it a standing shifting??

im guessing shift fork.. just a extremely wild gues tho wont shift up while ur riding or is it a standing shifting??

I agree with the shift fork possibility, or maybe even a bent shift rod. Either way, something was assembled incorrectly, and you have a crankcase split in front of you . . .:whistle:

yes i did know it had problems , although the guy i bought it of told me he put new gears and forks in it .. today i decided to work on it a bit and i opened both ends right and left and looked inside and everything does look to be new ! it does shift 1st second and third and down shifts fine but it doesnt go higher than 3rd ! i took out the shifter rod and the case ( housing) behind it , theres a like a star nutt with a spring that holds it .. when i turn that manualy it goes to all 3 gears and stops , i loosened it and pulled it out like quearter of an inch and it gave me all 6 gear ! of course thats while im turning the back wheel at the same tiem to engage th egears ! but when i put it back in place and tighten it , it doesnt pass 3rd gear it feels like somthign gets stuck there !