Causeway Creepiness

MikesGSX1300RK9

Registered
I moved to a location where I must go over a causeway with several over water passes to get to work, and have found that I get nervous/anxious when going over these overpasses on the bike.

Never have really had issues on overpasses before. Hell, I'm a private pilot and deal with heights OK in the airplane.

On the bike, though, particularly the Busa, I find that I've made overpasses into a monster and now become anxious while transiting them... particularly as I reach the top and go back downhill.

Has anyone else had a similar phobia, and how have you dealt with it? Had a really rough time of it today. Rode for about an hour today, and had a blast except when I clammed up on overpasses.

Appreciate any advice on keeping my cool... would hate to get rid of the motorcycles because of this fear, as there is no way to avoid the causeway while riding to work.

Of note... I've done just fine riding on, and typically enjoy, longer rides on US-1 and A1A. Don't believe I'd enjoy the interstate, but do best on lower traffic roads. The causeway presents irrational fear whether there's traffic or not (but moreso when there's someone behind me.)

Gonna have to master this fear or stop riding. In my 37 years, I've never found anything I can't do and would rather retain motorcycling as a hobby. Hope some others have found ways to overcome this type of anxiety.

Thanks,

Mike

Mike, I fear you shouldn't really be asking this question of a bunch of amatuer psychiatrists. It sounds to me like maybe you should have a couples sessions with a shrink. There's nothing to be ashamed of...I did it once. Sometimes just speaking your fear to another person can help you come to terms with the absurdity of the problem.