Can you pick out what wrong in this pic?

megawatt

Registered
Take a look. This is what I found today when I decided to investigate my clutch gremlin. Can you see something wrong here?

IMG_1487.jpg

Never mind about the cooked plates, take a close look "at the plates".

You missing one?

looks to be missing #4 from the top. of course I am no expert and will stop guessing at this point.

Last edited:
The clutch should have a fiber plate next to a steel plate from top to bottom. A total of 10 ea fiber plates and 9 steel plates. If you look closely at the pic my clutch was assembled with two steels touching each other below the 3rd fiber from the top.

I noticed I could not put any power down to the street even with just 3 pounds of boost. I opened the clutch cover and found one bolt holding a clutch spring gone (later pulled out of the oil pan. Three other clutch spring bolts finger tight. And only two springs actually torqued down. I was basically using two clutch springs to put turbo power thru the clutch to the transmission.

My fibers were smoked as you can see the material in the basket.

IMG_1484.jpg

IMG_1485.jpg

IMG_1482.jpg

Good news is no damage to the clutch basket. Everything seems ok. I did a 150 mile two up ride today with my gf. My busa has not failed me yet, these machines are built like a tank. I will be calling APE in the morning for a new clutch pack and will be back on the road in a couple days.

So a quick reminder to everyone, if something don't feel right it probably is not right and devote some investigation time.

What is the gold Brock's star thing?

Single piece clutch mod from brocks. It eliminates the stock two piece back torque piece, some people think the stock two piece its a slipper clutch but it is not.

Some people with the stock two piece during drag strip launches experiences lurching or grabbing. The gold star thing eliminates it because it removes the back torque property of the two piece.