Rear drag slick

r1d3on3

Registered
I am debating on what tire to buy for running at the drag strip with. I just bought a spare wheel off ebay to use for drag racing only. I want to put the best sticking tire I can find on it and will just change wheels when I get ready to head to the drag strip so DOT is not an issue.

I see you can get flat out drag slicks, Mickey Thompson's, etc, or there is the option of going with a tire like a Shinko 003 Ultra Soft. I really don't know which way to go here. One would think with a Mickey there would be much more rubber on the ground but I don't know about the squared off tire? And is a Shinko softer, stickier? I'm new to this and could use a little help. Like I say it's drag strip use only, so what sticks the best?

Thank you ahead of time for any input.:beerchug:

are you trailering there? any class stipulations you'll be racing in?

no classes, and yes i will be trailering it there most likely, may ride it and change when i get there too. but no street riding will be done on this new tire.

i would try a radial first and see how well it hooks for you. i.e. shinko hook up, power one, mickey makes one i think its called a mcr2 or similar.

i dont know much about the square slicks, but i think you may need to look into if they need tubes, and if they need a wider wheel. that could end the search there. if it wont fit in the swingarm.

does anyone use sport compact slicks? there are a number that would fit on the rim, but would they work?

Micke Thompson slicks do not need tubes, and if you do not need to run a DOT tire for the class they are the best option. They will stick everytime, even on poorly prepped tracks, they will last forever....and are fairly inexpensive (approx.$180.00). they have a 5inch and a 7inch that will fit with no problem.

if you want a DOT tire the best is the Mickey thompson shootout. I love this tire, but it does not last as long as the SHinko's