Please Pay Attention!!

Jay Willie

Donating Member
Registered
Dang it!!! What in the world do people think?! Just because we own a vehicle, do we think we become the new 'I can drive!' god? (Small 'g', capital one belongs to the one true God!)

Sorry, guys, but I got let off a little steam!! As a general contractor, I do quite a bit of business with the local lumber yards, hardware stores, etc., so I really get a chance to make a lot of good friends. A couple of months ago, one of the young men at the local 'Ace is the place' comes up and says,"Hey, John, you'll never guess what! I got a street bike!!" Great, Chris, just be careful, gear up, watch out for the other guy. "Oh, I got lots of dirt bike riding experience! I can't wait to get out on the street!!" Just take your time and don't get in too big a hurry. You've got the rest of your life....

Weather's breakin', lots of people out flexing there motorcycle muscles, gettin' stretched out for another good riding season, when...WTF!!!???!~! Guy driving a pick-up, towing a golf cart trailer loaded with riding lawnmowers, tries to beat lunch time traffic to pull into a fast food restaurant, across two lanes, no freakin' less!!! Chris lays it down and slids under the guys trailer.

Even though the guy didn't stop until he was halfway through the parking lot, it was too late for Chris. He'd caught the underside of his helmet going under the trailer, spun his head around and broke his neck. They figured he died instantly.

Chris was a good kid. No amount of gear would have saved him. For those of you who are prayer people, please remember his family. I'm sure the pickup driver is struggling with his decision to try to squeeze through, too, and it would be kind to offer up prayers for him.

We've just got to all pay attention!!

very sad news. Will the driver of the truck be charged with anything?