I ain't no mechanic, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night!

Vonderbach

Your AD here!
Donating Member
Registered
Like the title says, I'm no mechanic. Heck, I do well to change my own oil. So with that in mind, I have a question for you gear heads.

I had an 883 Harley and it was a real slug on the highway. It was quick enough off the line, but it was a pig overall.

My question : What factor makes my 883cc such a wuss when my wife's 600cc GSXR can move like it's standing still? (Insert pointing and laughter here) :whistle:

Mind you, this is why I traded it in for my Busa, but the question remains.

my guess would be weight of the bike and gearing coupled with the fact that the inline 4 will hit higher rpms than the v twin:whistle:

Gearing mainly...the 883 is on a much heavier weighted bike than the 599 in the GSXR, the engine is geared very differently than a standard inline 4...Not too mention the weight ratio of the bikes...

If it's in the gearing, then I suppose the next logical question would be, why? Why would Harley gear a bike to be essentially ineffective at any speed? It was no firestarter off the line and it strained to break 100mph.

But yes, I guess weight would account for a lot, it wasn't terribly light. About 200+ lbs more than the GSXR.

torque curve as a function of engine design (bore/stroke)...

how does a 250 hp caterpillar move 80,000lbs down the road and a 400hp BBC Rat motor be lucky to get it rolling..

If it's in the gearing, then I suppose the next logical question would be, why? Why would Harley gear a bike to be essentially ineffective at any speed? It was no firestarter off the line and it strained to break 100mph.

But yes, I guess weight would account for a lot, it wasn't terribly light. About 200+ lbs more than the GSXR.