'08 Break in

valkyriemc

Donating Member
Registered
Can a new (lucky)owner relate what the breakin in for the new model? I'm considering riding my bike home when I pick it up. But I'm leaning towards trailering it home on I95 here in Florida so it is not run hard, prior to break in. TIA

there are different methods , my theory is drive it like you stole it , take it easy for the firts 50 miles constantly shifting gears , never letting the rpm stay the same for 2 long . then let it rip ! when suzuki lined up 30 bikes for the test run did it look like they were worried about break in periods ? if you are going to go by the book , it is going to be a long 600 miles ! better get started on the way home from the dealer .

I was told to keep below 5000 rpm (manual says 5500 rpm) for the first 600 miles.... keep working the throttle but not fully cracking it. Avoid letting the bike chug in too high a gear.

Think thats the same advise from most manufacturers

Jza

I am a former tech. And I mean I was this summer. Beat that thing like it owes you $50k.

I bought my 08 from the place I used to work. I made the deal and then went to get my Gixxer to trade in. By the time I got back the guys I trust to ride my bike had already beat the snot out of it. 20 miles worth. And I haven't done it any favors since then.
super.gif

1.jpg

never exceeded 7500rpm first 100 miles.changed oil.then every 5-10 miles add another 1000 rpms until redline.change oil at 250.run the hell out of it.

Find a bike dyno, and use it for the break in. It's a controlled environment that will allow for proper speed and heat cycling.

With a dyno break in and dyno run I had a whopping 26 miles on the odo. The oil and filter were changed before it hit the street. I've even flogged it a few times since I put it on the street and it's doing fine.