Radiator Fan

Kaldari

Registered
My radiator fan isn't turning on and thus causing the bike to overheat when still. I need an easy way to test the fan itself so I know if it's the motor or something else like a sensor or relay.

I'm not an expert at this stuff, so I just started doing some Googling to find something I can do. I have a voltmeter, but I can't get in to the leads on the motor without removing the radiator. I tried putting the voltmeter leads into the little connector that runs from the fan to the left side of teh bike, but I didn't turn up anything.

One idea I came up with is taking the fan control relay out and bridging the connections. This should make the fan kick on regardless of temp, right?

Please correct me if I'm wrong and any ideas are welcome.

In the upper left corner of the radiator is the thermal switch that controls the fan, you can
un plug it and jump the wires...the fan should come on when you do this :beerchug:

In the upper left corner of the radiator is the thermal switch that controls the fan, you can
un plug it and jump the wires...the fan should come on when you do this :beerchug:

When you do this, make sure you have the key in the on position...

This is the temp sensor, the plug is cover by the boot, slide the boot up, unconnect the plug and jumper the two wires together inside the plug...

DSC09355-1.jpg

Yeah, I figured that's what he was talking about, but I cannot for the life of me get the connector to slide off of the thermo-switch. Is there a trick to it?

Just squeez the top little tab thingie and pull, you may want to push a little then pull...

Push on the top towards the rear of the connector where the wires come out... should pull right off...

I connected the two sides and viola, the fan came right on.

So am I to assume that sensor is bad or could it be something else?