Oh Crap

jimg

Registered
Check this out.

My lady and I were touring round the top part of our country, when the back part of the bike started bouncing off the rear tyre.

After a brief period of "Oh my god my bikes f#$%ed" ranting, I actually looked at the bike to try and find out what the problem was. It was really hot, we were both in full leather gear and the sweat was starting to pour, when a fellow Suzuki rider drove past in his car.

He had noticed the upside down, under rear wheel inspection pose as "Not Normal Hayabusa rider road side behaviour" and decided to stop and see if there was a problem. He asked us if we'd like to diagonose the problem in a cool garage rather than a road side oven, so after a quick transfer of gear to his car, we
slowly rode up the road to his house.

I'm no mechanic, but after a brief discussion as to whether or not it was a suspension problem, I remembered about the weak sub frames the early hayabusas had, and decided to have a look
under the front seat.

As you can see, it wasn't hard to figure out what the problem
was
smile.gif

StuffedSubFrame.jpg

awwww chitsky..... that like waaayy sucks.. what year BUSA do you have? what the heck are your options when THAT happens?
I have an 03.. cold that happen to me..

All I can say is .... DOAH...... that sucks....

Be glad that the tire didnt grab and you both didnt slide down the highway when the back wheel locked up... I call this a success story !! Glad you guys are OK.

Cap

Did Suzuki Recall these or just change to a steel subframe I cannot remember. Sounds like you got off easy all things considered, your just a steel subframe away from roling again. Glad your ok.

Rev

When you go to replace the subframe make certan you get a steel one if you do a lot of riding with a pillion. I might talk to your Local dealer, they might take pity on you and help you out.