Bike won't start, suggestions?

knotlinks

Registered
Hiya everybody. I read this board daily, just don't post. Thanks for all your help!

My question: Basically, I cannot start my bike. 2003 Busa, silvery, about 2800 miles.

History: Bike sat for about two years before I started riding it. I am unsure of all the mods on the bike, but I believe it has TRE and PAIR block off, I don't think anything else other than cosmetic mods. Things I've done:

1) Brand new battery that holds a 13.34 v charge, on a Battery tender.
2) New tank of 93 octane gas, with injector cleaner and octane boost.
3) The bike ran ONCE with the new battery, could this maybe be the remnants of old gas before a clog in the fuel system? Is that even possible on an injected system?
4) Using the Error Code paperclip hack, I get no error codes popping up (C00).
5) While turning the bike over, it will "thump" every minute or so like it fired, but never runs fully.
6) The "choke" / fast idle cable was unattached completely when I went poking around last night on the bike, and had been detached for most of the cranking over I attempted. It is reattached now and seems to be fine, at least it looks like other pics I have seen of the same cable and matched the manual roughly (I think I have the old, poorly designed cable that pulls when you turn left).
7) Heated garage kept at about 55 - 60 degrees F.

Any other info needed, I can supply. Any thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated, summer riding weather is approaching in Buffalo, and i want to ride this bike more than the others. Thanks everyone!

DaveC

Last edited:
Also:

8) I had installed a battery backwards in a moment of hazy stupidity, and blew the 30 amp main fuse. The fuse has been replaced with the proper fuse.

Also:

8) I had installed a battery backwards in a moment of hazy stupidity, and blew the 30 amp main fuse. The fuse has been replaced with the proper fuse.

That might have hurt the ECU.