Good ole Overheating Problems

Phlack

Registered
Alright so first let me intoduce myself. My name is Kevin and I'm 27. I recently inhereted (sp?) an 03 Zuk Busa from my dad who sold it to his brother. His brother recently passed away and my dad gave it to me as a gift. I've been riding it around Wichita, KS for the past couple of weeks with no problems whatsoever. Well, I just rode down to Phoenix, AZ (1100 miles in two days) to attend MMI for a couple of years.

Now here's my delimma...Riding around in heavy traffic makes the bike overheat like an SOB! My dad and I have been troubleshooting and figured I should take out the thermostat and see what happens. I took out the thermostat and rode it down to the same place and the bike worked fine. The fan kicked on a little over halfway and kept the bike cool. So, I stopped at Hooters and called me dad and we figured that we needed a new thermostat. So, I started riding to the local bike shop when the bike started overheating again with the thermostat out. The fan still kicks on but it still overheats! Now I am baffled. The bike has around 46000 miles. There is some no name brand coolant in there. I do have some Engine Ice ready to go in as soon as i figure out what is wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post, but I'm just trying to give an accurate play by play. I'll have some pics up soon since my household goods have not arrived yet.

Check make sure the coolant level is full, also make sure all the air is purged from the system. You shouldn't run the bike without a t-stat.