first time running bike on track

TommyGunn1300

Registered
i have been riding steetbikes for about 3 years now. i have had my busa for 10k miles and still never had it on the track. well this saturday, the local car site is renting out a 1/4 mile track around here. there wont be many people so i will be able to run quite a few times during the day. i really dont know what to expect as far as times go. i was hoping to break into the 9s but i dont know how hard that would be to do. been doing some reading on the forum and it looks like i could expect something in the 10s on my first couple of runs. the bike is a 07 bone stock. i have 1inch risers, and pilot roads. i im 6'3 and 195lbs.

looks like i just need to hold it at 3-4k rpm on take off, and shift at 11k? its this a good shifting point for a stock bike? i have been drag racing fast 4wheelers and dirtbikes on the dirtdrags for a while now. but being on a busa on pavement is going to me alittle diffrent.

i live on a back country road so i am going to practice before i go. should i strap the front down or leave it like it is? also, i will not be doing any burnouts because i dont want to buy a new one anytime soon. ill just clean it off with my hand if there is dirt on it.

soo...whats everybody think i will run givin my experience with racing other toys?

It sounds like you have already read my threads, you will love it!!! I didn't do any burn-outs either, the tire didn't slip on me and the bike didn't pull up at all,probably cause my take offs suck,but I didn't want to waste my tire, but once it starts slipping i'll be smokin'

Definitely strap it, and you don't have to do a John Force burnout, but spin it a little to get the crap off. First time out launch the bike just like you would from a stop sign if you were taking off hard. Don't worry about rpms, and shift a couple hundred short of your limiter.
Main thing is to have fun!